If you are thinking about purchasing a motorcycle in the state of Kentucky, then you need to know the laws surrounding these vehicles before you do so. Failing to abide by the motorcycle laws set forth by the state legislature could result in significant penalties as well as create an unsafe riding environment.
In Kentucky, individuals must be at least 18 years of age or hold a valid operator license to apply for a motorcycle permit. If an applicant is under 18 years of age, they will need to have a parent or legal guardian willing to assume responsibility imposed through KRS 186.590 and design the license application. This applies even if the parent or guardian has already signed an application allowing their child to drive a vehicle or a moped. open
In many ways, the process of obtaining a motorcycle license in Kentucky is similar to obtaining a regular driver’s license. Individuals will have to pass both a vision and a written test. They can prepare for the exam by studying the Kentucky Motorcycle Manual. The vision and written tests are administered at a local DMV office.
In lieu of taking the written exam, individuals can register for a program that lets them learn as they ride. A driving course taught by an instructor authorized by the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet in Kentucky is available, and individuals will be taught to properly operate a motorcycle by an experienced teacher until it is deemed they have mastered the skill. Individuals will then be presented with a certificate that can be shown to the DMV that exempts an individual from taking the written test to acquire their motorcycle license.
This course lasts 16 to 18 hours and has two sections. The first section is spent on classroom study, and the second section is spent on practical motorcycle roadway driving skills.
Motorcyclists are required to carry insurance just like any other vehicle driver. Under Kentucky law, motorcycles must follow a 25/50/25 insurance amount. This means each motorcyclist is required to carry a minimum of:
Alternatively, individuals can have a single policy with a limit of $60,000.
Kentucky does have a motorcycle helmet law, but it only applies to individuals in a certain age range. In the Commonwealth, individuals under the age of 21 are required to wear a motorcycle helmet when operating these vehicles. Additionally, any motorcycle operator with a permit or who has had their license for less than a year is also required to wear a helmet.
The law in Kentucky has said that any motorcyclist aged 21 and over is not required to wear a helmet when operating a motorcycle. However, we strongly encourage all motorcyclists to wear a DOT-approved helmet every time they hit the roadway with their bike. Helmets are designed to protect individuals from sustaining severe head or brain trauma, and they are amazingly successful at doing so.